Perception, being gentle and somebody elses shoes!

What you focus on is what you live. I am a big believer in that. You live what you think. So be gentle with your thinking.

While your at it (all this being gentle with yourself), you might feel inspired to encourage others to think gentle too. To live gentle, be gentle and share gentle. To focus on the uplifting in life, the empowering and motivating aspects of existing. To focus on the strength in being real and believing in people. In choosing compassion over judgement and understanding over conflict.

I saw a little quote one day, I have seen numerous people being credited for it, I think it was His Holiness , the Dalai Lama that said it, but I could be wrong. I love it, it is this ; “If you think you are too small to make a difference, try sleeping with a mosquito.”

We all have a desire at some level to help people, to contribute in a meaningful way. I honestly believe that is our true nature, its a deep calling that exists within all of us. If you disagree, then I challenge you to take a few hours of your day and help somebody. Seriously, just choose a day, even if you can only spare 1 hour, go somewhere very public where there are loads of people and serve them. Hold doors open, carry groceries, fill parking machines, share laughter. Be a witness to your shifting focus and know that this energy is always available to you. We experience moments everyday, where we can forgive, assist, share and gift another with kindness.

I have had the privilege of meeting some amazing people and I am blessed with great friends and family that are cherished by many. It’s interesting, that we connect with others and choose our own stories about who they are, based on how they talk, live, stand and communicate. We presume we know something about somebody, that we think we understand somebody or we feel similar for some reason. All of this based on our own perception of another persons momentary behaviour. I don’t really ever say it to myself but I often remind myself of “walking in somebody else’s shoes”! See, I think that we often wear hats to feel a certain way, to fit in or to stand out, to be accepted or valued. There is a continual  energy of “trying” if you spend your life in search of acceptance and public acknowledgement. However, the truth is, that whatever another thinks of us, is just a perception. It is theirs not ours, it is fluid and changeable, it does not have to impact on how we see ourselves. Contributing to a valuable life, means self acceptance and love. The relationship we create within ourselves is as important as the one we have with the world. Your connection to what you read and what you take from it belongs to you. Your desire to assist others can be fulfilled daily, simply and effectively.

I guess what I would really love to see. Is a world that is open to forgiveness and change by walking our talking. By living the values that are true to our nature and honouring our own calling.

If you look for the rough in someone you will find it, if you look for the pain in someone you will find it, if you look for the joy in someone you’ll ignite it! Are you tough on yourself? Do you berate yourself often, do you snigger at yourself, do you expect too much of yourself, are you being unkind to yourself? Do you dislike yourself?

I watch people being angry and I feel deep compassion for them. I don’t know if I can explain it well enough for it to be understood but I’ll try. I know that they are being abusive to another and being unkind and inconsiderate and cruel , but I know that if they have this ability to hurt another in this way, then imagine the life that they live in their own mind. It must be a prison. It must be a very cold and dark place. Maybe they are always looking for the rough in the world and in their relationships, maybe they have a focus that remains on what is not a part of their current experience instead of focussing on what is and then perhaps that focus is pain based not pleasure. I don’t know about that, I guess it would change depending on the person. There are so many things to be grateful for and I cant imagine occupying a mind that lives that way. This understanding fosters a very real compassion in me for the people that do.

I am a witness to emotional abuse, we all are. Everyday, we see someone who is berated or insulted. It can occur on all sorts of levels, by all sorts of means. We watch television, read papers, surf online. We visit stores, sports arenas, government institutions. It seems that there is no end to this behaviour. If we consider the impact of this energy within our own lives we might see a reason to turn the television off, not buy that paper, to be choosy about which stores we visit and what sites we surf. If we pay attention to what impacts our thoughts and the relationship that our thoughts have with our current surroundings we might see an interesting pattern. I believe that the energy of anger is sticky and powerful like superglue. I try to be gentle with my life. To be mindful of the information I hear and read that is mass media related. I am constantly watching as more and more people become bewildered by the global increase in violence, poverty, disease and our seeming lack of compassion for others. Why though should that be a focus? because that will continue with or without my focus and in fact, it will be ever so slightly energised by it.

Our perceptions of the world and our immediate surroundings belong to us. Others might try to influence it but we are the main menu of our destination. We will move toward the direction we are most focussed on. So where are you going?

Leave a Reply

